“What is transportation like in your country?”

 

subway

Photo from ecenglish.com

Francesca Basil, Australia: Melbourne has a really efficient public transport system throughout the city. There are the public trams that run on the streets and pick up passengers at various locations, and buses are always available every couple of minutes. There are even high-speed trains that run to other surrounding cities. But the easiest and cheapest option is good old-fashioned walking. (Personally, I would rather walk to class in order to get to know the city and meet interesting people along the way.)

Allie Diehl, Spain: Much like my freshman year at WVU, I walk or take the bus everywhere. Unlike WVU and Morgantown, Murcia is very pedestrian-friendly and is as flat as a pancake. It is very easy to access the entire city by foot. The only time that I have utilized the public transportation is to go outside the city to explore and hike.

Maria Lorditch, France: Walking, walking and more walking! Generally, I walk about 5 miles a day. It’s almost a mile to the bus stop that takes me to class. I then take a bus straight to my university and then have about another 5-10 minute walk to my classroom. The main forms of transportation here are buses, trams and bikes. It is more common to take the bus or the tram to work rather than a car. There are usually more bikes on the road than cars.

Morgan Hylton, U.K.: Public transportation is huge in the U.K., whether it be buses, trains, or subways. There is almost always a way to get around. My daily commute starts with a 10-minute walk to the bus station to catch a ride to the opposite campus where all of my classes are located. After about a 10-minute bus ride, I have another 5-minute walk to the building that houses my courses.

It is definitely a bit more of a process than going to class at WVU. As I have lived downtown for the past two years, my commute was virtually nonexistent, but I suppose this is preparing me for the real world where my job isn’t in my backyard.

 

Leave a Reply

