Morgan Hylton—Hatfield, U.K.

morganMy name is Morgan Hylton and I’m a 19-year-old junior English major. I’ll be studying at the University of Hertfordshire in Hatfield, U.K., for 5 months.

What made you want to study abroad?

Over the past year I have felt very anxious about the mundane life I lead in Morgantown. I tried to find ways to spice it up but always fell short, so I decided to take a leap and study abroad.

Studying abroad is something that I have always wanted to do, but I never knew if I was brave enough to actually go through with it. My love for different cultures and gaining as many experiences as possible was a huge driving force on my pros list, but the cons were still present in my mind.

After a lot of thinking and realizing what was going to make me grow as a person, I decided that studying abroad was exactly what I needed to feel fulfilled. So, here I am, 4,000 miles away from home, on the scariest, most amazing journey of my life.

What were your expectations for this trip?

I like to imagine that I will travel all around Europe with a Prince William-type man who I fall in love with and we will live happily ever after, but my rational mind just hopes to gain a little excitement and independence. Either would be superb.

What do you hope to accomplish or do while abroad?

I hope to travel to the countries that inspire me in my day-to-day life. I have spent a lot of time studying Dante so I would love to see Florence, and I would enjoy observing the effortless Parisian style along with numerous other countries whose cultures have had a heavy influence on my spirit.

What has been your biggest culture shock, if anything?

My biggest culture shock so far has been the total absence of banana peppers. They don’t have them anywhere, and what kind of country doesn’t have those? But really, it’s the small things like that that have given me the hardest time: little phrases I don’t understand, the lack of ice anywhere, the crass nature of the people here (which is quite in contrast to my southern upbringing) and other everyday things I didn’t know I would miss until they were gone.

Leave a Reply

